DUI Penalties for a Commercial Driver in Florida

DUI penalties in Florida are increased if you have a commercial driver’s license. If you are convicted of DUI in your commercial vehicle,
– You cannot drive a commercial motor vehicle for one year and you are not eligible for a hardship license.

– You have to wait the full year, then pay a $60.00 fee to restore your commercial drivers license.

– If you were transporting hazardous materials when convicted of DUI, you can’t drive a commercial vehicle for three years.

– If you are convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with unlawful alcohol level (.04), not DUI, you can’t drive a commercial vehicle for one year and you cannot get a hardship license during the year. After the full year, you can pay the $60.00 reinstatement fee and get your commercail drivers license back.

– If you were carrying hazardous materials when convicted of having an unlawful alcohol level (.04), you can’t drive a commercial vehicle for three years.

– If you refused to take a breathalyzer test after being arrested for DUI in Florida or having an unlawful alcohol level (.04), you can’t drive for one year and you cannot get a hardship license. After the full year, you have to pay the $60.00 fee to restore your commercial drivers license.

If you have any questions concerning your Florida DUI charge, please call our experienced criminal defense lawyers at (904) 634-0900 for a free consultation.