Can I fire my gun in the air?

Many people in Jacksonville and all over Florida celebrate holidays, birthdays, or special occasions by firing their guns in the air.

The state of Florida does not allow the 2008->Ch0790->Section%2015#0790.15″target=”_blank”>discharging of guns in public. If you fire your gun in any public place, you could be arrested and charged with a first degree misdemeanor. The maximum jail time is 1 year in jail. This law does not apply if you are lawfully defending yourself.

If you fire your gun while in a car and any person is within 1,000 feet, you could be charged with a second degree felony punishable for up to 15 years in prison.

If you have any questions about gun or weapon charges in Jacksonville, call our Jacksonville Gun Attorneys at (904) 634-0900.