We see the billboards and have heard about it, but what does 10 – 20 – Life mean?
In Jacksonville and all of Florida, if you possess a gun while committing a crime, you are subject to a 10 year minimum mandatory. That means if convicted, the least time you will serve in prison is 10 whole years.
If you discharge a gun while committing a crime, you are subject to a 20 year minimum mandatory.
If you discharge a gun and cause great bodily harm while committing a crime in Florida, you face life in prison.
For more information about this Florida gun law, contact our Jacksonville Criminal Lawyers at (904) 634-0900.