Articles Posted in Driving on a Suspended License/Driving Crimes

About 40% of the arrests in Jacksonville each day are for driving on a suspended license. The prosecutor has to prove that you were driving and you knew your driver’s license was suspended. To prove that you had knowledge that your license was suspended, the element of knowledge is satisfied if:

1. You have been cited for driving on a suspended license in Florida

2. You admit to knowledge of the suspension.

In the past few years, JSO has been cracking down on car racing on Jacksonville’s streets. If you are caught racing, you can be arrested in Florida for a misdemeanor. For a first offense, you are facing up to one year in jail and a fine between $500 and $1000. If you get a conviction, the DMV will suspend your license for 1 year.

If you are arrested for racing within 5 years of another violation, it is still a misdemeanor in Jacksonville, but your license can be revoked for 2 years.

To be convicted of racing, the prosecutor has to prove that you drove a vehicle in any race or acceleration contest on any highway, road, or parking lot or participated in ANY way with the race. This includes videotaping the race or being a passenger in the seat of a racing car.

A University of Florida football player has been arrested for Driving on a Suspended License charges. Dustin Doe was arrested for the criminal charge shortly after he received a ticket for the same thing. After being arrested, Doe posted the $1000 bond set in first appearance court.

In Jacksonville, if you are pulled over for Driving on a Suspended License for the first time, the officer will probably write you a ticket. For every time after that first time, you will most likely be arrested. About 40% of the arrests in Duval County are for Driving on a Suspended License. Some people don’t even know their license is suspended because they paid off all their tickets. The problem is, if you have many tickets that you pay at one time, you will receive all the points from the tickets and the DMV will then suspend your license.

If you have been arrested for Driving on a Suspended License in Jacksonville, call our Jacksonville Driving Attorneys at (904) 634-0900. Our Jacksonville Suspended License Lawyers are available anytime to discuss your case.

When you are arrested for DUI in Jacksonville, the traffic ticket you get from the arresting officer for DUI is your driver’s license business-only permit for 10 days from the day you are arrested. It is not a regular driver’s license, but you will be able to drive to work, the doctor, or school on the permit.

Within that 10 days, a Jacksonville DUI Attorney can request to have a formal administrative hearing with the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. After the request is made, a Jacksonville DUI Lawyer will get you an extension on the temporary driving permit to keep you driving until the outcome of the hearing.

If you have been arrested in Jacksonville for DUI (Driving Under the Influence), call our Jacksonville Criminal DUI Attorneys at (904) 634-0900.

Over the holidays, St. Johns County police found it necessary to initiate “Operation Blue Christmas”. They actually had police officers sitting outside the homes of people who had been convicted of DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in St. Johns County to watch and see if they came outside and got behind the wheel of a car. If you are convicted of a first DUI in Florida, your license is suspended for 6 months if you blow over the legal limit or 1 year if you refused. In either case, you are eligible for a hardship license to drive to work or school after 30 days on a 6 month suspension and after 90 days on a 1 year suspension.

It is not clear how long these officers waited outside each house for someone to come out. It is also not known if the officers bothered to check whether these people they arrested did in fact have a hardship license.

If you have been arrested for DUI in Jacksonville, call our Jacksonville DUI Attorneys at (904) 634-0900.

In Jacksonville and all of Florida, your driver’s license can be suspended if you have received too many points due to traffic tickets. Points will stay on your license for three years. Racking up points on your driver’s license will not only lead to possible suspension, but it can also make your insurance rates increase.

– Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days if you get 12 points within 12 months.

– Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days if you get 18 points within 18 months.

When you are charged with Criminal Driving on a Suspended License, the best thing you can do is get your license reinstated while your case is pending. You should first go to any Jacksonville driver’s license office (DMV) and request a printout of your driving record. There are many reasons your license can be suspended:

You may have received a civil traffic citation and did not pay the fine, set a court date, or did not appear on the court date you requested. You can pay the citation or set a court date at the Duval County Traffic Violations Bureau located next door to traffic court in the Southgate Shopping Center at 3490 Beach Boulevard.

You may have had a court date on a criminal traffic offense and failed to appear. You must go to the Duval County Clerk’s Office in Room M106 of the downtown courthouse at 330 East Bay Street to set a court date for that case.

You may have not paid the fine on a civil traffic offense. You have to go to the Duval County Clerk’s Office and pay the fine.

Continue reading