Domestic Battery Criminal Charges and Consequences in Jacksonville

Domestic Battery is one of the easiest crimes to get arrested for in Jacksonville. The police are called out to a “dispute” and when they arrive, they talk to the parties involved and any witnesses to the “battery”. More times than not, the police arrest the person who did NOT call the police. Even if there is no injury on anyone involved, someone is going to jail.

In order to be considered a domestic battery in Florida, there are certain requirements that must be met.

1. The alleged victim has to be a family or household member. That includes spouses, current or former, people related by blood or marriage, people who have resided with you presently or in the past, or someone who has a child with you.

2. For it to qualify as a battery, you have to intentionally touch someone against their will or intentionally hurt someone.

If you are convicted of Domestic Battery, there are certain minimum penalties in the State of Florida.

1. You will be placed on 12 months probation to complete “special” conditions.

2. You will have to complete a batterers’ intervention program as a condition of your probation. This is a 26 week class that you have to attend weekly. It is expensive and many
people find it difficult to complete because if you do not tell the administrator everything they want to hear, they can throw you out at their discretion.

2. There is a $592.00 mandatory fine and if it is not paid in a timely manner, your probation can be violated and you could be re-arrested.

3. The Duval County judge in your case may also restrict your contact with the alleged victim.

If you have any questions about your Jacksonville Domestic Battery charge, call our experienced Jacksonville Criminal Defense Attorneys at (904) 634-0900.

Contact Information