Elderly Abuse in Florida

The State of Florida has a distinct set of laws protecting the elderly population and disabled adults. An elderly person is someone who is 60 years-old or older who is suffering from the “infirmities of aging”. A disabled adult is defined as someone over 18 years of age who has a physical or mental incapacitation as a result of a developmental disability, brain damage, mental illness, or physical limitation.

There are several levels of crimes related to the elderly and the disabled. Elderly abuse occurs when someone intentionally inflicts physical or emotional injury on the elderly or disabled and that act could reasonably be expected to result in physical or psychological injury to that person. This is a third degree felony punishable for up to 5 years in prison. If someone willfully tortures, punishes, or cages a disabled person or elderly person, this is considered aggravated abuse and is a first degree felony. Neglect of an elderly or disabled adult is a third degree felony in Florida.

Contact Information