First DUI in Jacksonville

As a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Law Firm, our Duval County Attorneys represent many people charged with DUI in Florida. Often, it is their first time being arrested for Driving Under the Influence.

When you are placed under arrest for DUI in Jacksonville, a long process begins. You will go to first appearance court, also called J-1. A judge will look at your criminal history, where you live, ans your ties to the community to determine if you will be released on your own recognizance (ROR) or if you will have to post a bond to be released from jail. If you are released or bond out of jail, you will be given a court date. You must appear at that court date unless you hire a criminal defense attorney who waives your appearance.

When you, or your DUI Defense Attorney, makes an appearance for your court date, you have three options. You can enter a plea of “not guilty” and fight your DUI charge. You can enter a plea to the judge, which means your sentence will be up to the county court judge you appear in front of. Finally, you can enter a plea of “no contest” or guilty to the charge. If you enter a plea to a first DUI, there are certain minimum punishments that apply in Florida. You will be sentenced to 6 months up to 12 months of probation. When you are on probation in Jacksonville, you will have to report to the county court probation office, which is run by the Salvation Army. While you are on probation, you will have to do certain things before your probation is over. On a first DUI, you will have to perform 50 hours of community service, attend and complete DUI school level one, attend the Mothers Against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel, Impound your vehicle for 10 days, and pay court costs and fines. In addition to completing these conditions, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least six months.

If you are placed on probation in Jacksonville or anywhere in Florida, and are accused of any new law violation, your probation can be violated and you can be arrested on a violation of probation in Jacksonville. If you are arrested while you are on probation in Duval County, Clay County, or Nassau County, call our Jacksonville Probation Attorneys to discuss your rights.

Contact Information