How old do you have to be to buy a gun in Florida?

In order to buy a handgun in from a licensed gun dealer, you have to be 21 years-old. If you want to buy a rifle or shotgun from a dealer, you need only be 18 years-old.

If you buy a gun from another private citizen, not a dealer, you can buy at age 18.

In Florida, you cannot sell any minor, person under 18, a gun or any type of weapon. If you do, you can be charged with a first degree misdemeanor and will be facing up to one year in jail. If you sell a minor a gun, the charge can be upgraded to a third degree felony punishable for up to 5 years in a Florida prison.

If you have been arrested on criminal charges in Jacksonville, call our Jacksonville Criminal Attorneys at (904) 634-0900.

Contact Information