Minimum Mandatory Sentence for Domestic Battery in Jacksonville

As a Jacksonville Criminal Defense Law Firm, our attorneys handle many domestic battery cases. Domestic battery is defined as an intentional touching against someone’s will and that someone is a family or household member. A family or household member means spouses, ex-spouses, people related by blood or marriage, people who are living together as if a family or people who have lived as a family in the past.

If you are arrested for domestic battery in Jacksonville or anywhere in Florida, there are certain thinks you must do according to Florida law. Even if you were not adjudicated guilty of domestic battery (received a withhold of adjudication), you will still be placed on 12 months probation and ordered to attend and complete a batterers’ intervention program as a condition of your probation. The batterers’ intervention program is a 26 week (you must attend once a week). There is also a minimum term of jail if you are adjudicated guilty of domestic violence. The minimum jail term is 5 days in county jail, but the court can waive the jail time. If you are arrested for a domestic battery in Jacksonville, consult with a Duval County Domestic Battery Lawyer to discuss your case and your rights.

Contact Information