Other States Use Florida as a Model for Sex Offense Laws

Many states, such as Massachusetts, have passed stricter sex offense laws. According the the Worcester Telegram, Massachusetts has passed a law similar to Florida’s “Jessica’s Law”. The new law makes offenders serve a minimum 10 years in prison if they are convicted of aggravated sexual battery on a child and serve a minimum of 15 years in prison if you are a teacher of guidance counselor and you commit a sexual assault on a child.

Jessica’s law was passed in Florida in 2005 and made a 25 year minimum mandatory sentence for people convicted of lewd and lascivious molestation of a child. That means if convicted of this charge, the absolute least amount of time served in prison would be 25 years and the maximum would be life in prison. This Florida law also increased the mandatory requirements for sex predator/offender probation.

Contact Information