Petit Theft in Jacksonville, Florida

If you have been arrested for the 1st degree misdemeanor of petit theft (petty theft) in Jacksonville, Florida, the prosecutor must prove that you stole some one’s property and that the value of the property is valued at more than $100.00. (If the item is worth under $100.00, that is 2nd degree misdemeanor petit theft punishable for up to 60 days in jail) A 1st degree misdemeanor is punishable for up to one year in jail.

In order to prove the value of the item stolen, it is not enough to just assume the value. The state must present a witness who has personal knowledge regarding the value at fair market value or by establishing the cost minus depreciation of the item.

If you have been arrested for theft in Jacksonville, call our Jacksonville Theft Attorneys at (904) 634-0900.

Contact Information